New Aerial

In Car Entertainment, Sat-Nav, Mobile Phones, Media players etc., whats hot, and whats not!

Moderator: Moderators

pigboy306
1.8 16v

New Aerial

Post by pigboy306 »

Hi I am going to fit a new aerial on the roof of my D9 Estate. I have a DAB lead to run down to the radio. Anyone got any tips? Do i need to remove roof lining/windscreen pillar.
I have googled but found nothing useful.
NineWhileNine
1.6 8v

Re: New Aerial

Post by NineWhileNine »

Hi
I did this on my Coupe 12 months ago. This is the write up I posted on the Coupe forum
While I appreciate yours is an estate some of the procedures maybe be relevant and at least it gives you some idea of what is involved.
Dave

Please note that this is exclusive to a non-sunroof vehicle. Those with sunroofs will have additional fittings/fixings to deal with, of which I have no knowledge of.

Apologies for the absence of pictures during the removal. I was just getting on with it and completely forgot about taking pictures.

What you will need:

A suitable DAB & AM/FM Aerial & Cables
Torx Bits 15, 20 & 30
Socket 17mm
22mm Spanner
Torque Wrench
Black Silicone Sealant
An assistant
Time

I reckon you could complete this in a day if you have everything to hand and start early enough. I did mine over a couple of days as I was interupted/taking it slowly/went for a pint and I have the luxury of not needing to use it and it being parked round the back out of the way.