going to have a go at welding the sills !

Discuss the 406's Bodywork stuff in here (what parts fit what, what can be interchanged with what etc etc).

Moderator: Moderators

johntl
2.2 16v

going to have a go at welding the sills !

Post by johntl »

I've done some mig welding a long time ago, but was was wondering if tig was the best way to go ??
with the new MOT rules about major fails need to be fixed there and then, not giving you chance to get it sorted before MOT due date!!
I know there is some very thin bits on the sills will be pulled !, thought as off work for a while I'd give it a go

TIG OR MIG ?????

Ps ALL THE BEST IN THE NEW YEAR
dirtydirtydiesel
3.0 24v

Re: going to have a go at welding the sills !

Post by dirtydirtydiesel »

Mig's the easiest & best for car bodywork
I've been doing it for my profession for over the last thirty years :roll:
2002 110 HDi estate, Rapier in monaco blue! ( found quite a bit more power :cheesy: ) SOLD I've sorted the airbag light :cheesy:
1998 3.0 V6 SE coupe in Diablo Red ( my baby ) sold
2006 206 1.4 16v sport in Aegean blue ( wife's shopping trolley :roll: )

2006 BMW e61 535d m-sport :supafrisk: run's for cover :lol:
johntl
2.2 16v

Post by johntl »

Thanks for your pro input , so its whether to afford a cheap fluxed core mig or hire one .
I see you can get a cheap one with good reviews for about £80 ??
PeterN
3.0 24v

Post by PeterN »

Having never had rust in a 406 before, I took the wife's in for MOT a couple of months ago and he spied a small hole in the sill, after he had investigated it most of it was laying on the floor. I debated whether to have it repaired but in view of the rest of the car being OK and the ridiculous price of a replacement now I decided to go ahead.

I don't get on well with welding thin metal so I let my friendly local garage do it, He made up a new sill section, welded in and painted it all for less than £200 including the MOT! The job he did was superb.