Hi All

Welcome to the 406 Owners Club (406oc.co.uk and pug406.co.uk). If you havn't registered, you can post in here, and find out what the site is all about!

Moderator: Moderators

markieg7

Hi All

Post by markieg7 »

Hi everybody,
After the sudden demise of my trusty steed, petrol estate passat (tiptronic gearbox issue) I am now the proud owner of a 406 110hdi also in estate guise. What have I been missing? 54mpg plodding around country roads, 76mpg cruising M3 with trailer the other day, the best from the passat was 30mpg. Looking forward to many years of ownership with this fine machine, 160K miles and feels like it could at least double it!
On another point, I'm an engineer and one of my main hobbies is cars, well anything electro/mechanical basically. So I have PP2000, delphi, vcds, elm and galetto if anybody local to Hindhead Surrey needs a hand for beer money.
Mark
"In an insane world, only the insane is sane"
PeterN
3.0 24v

Re: Hi All

Post by PeterN »

Hi Mark

Welcome to the forum. I ran hydropneumatic Citroens for 30 years or so which were brilliant, but wasn't very impressed with the C5 so a got a 406 hdi estate and thought it was the next best thing, quite the best car that Peugeot have made. I am running two at the moment, one for me and one for the wife.

The combination of ride and handling I think they have spot on, the 8 valve Hdi engine is almost indestructible and they seem to go on for ever, probably the most reliable car I have ever driven in 60 years of motoring - and I can repair them. Mine often does 60+ mpg on the motorway but not the figures you are getting, managed 70 mpg once on a trip to Yorkshire but round here they only seem to be averaging around 45 mpg although the first one I had was nearer 60 mpg.

If I can get replacements when necessary these will probably be the last cars I drive, you can buy them for peanuts now but the numbers are rapidly declining.

Peter
Doggy
Mod with a 2.2 HDi, De-Fapped!

Post by Doggy »