New owner

Welcome to the 406 Owners Club (406oc.co.uk and pug406.co.uk). If you havn't registered, you can post in here, and find out what the site is all about!

Moderator: Moderators

munkymanmatt
1.8 16v

New owner

Post by munkymanmatt »

Hi all. Just bought my first diesel, a D8 1996 1.9td and I've plenty of questions and problems!
First off a list of current problems with the car that are obvious to me (I'm no expert)

My rev counter drops to 0 when engine braking

My oil temp gauge only works sometimes - usually works when starting the car and then goes dead again after a few seconds. (not even sure if this is how it's meant to work - never had a diesel before as I said!)

The ABS light is on when engine is running.

I have no radio and not sure if I can get an oem radio and CD player as the CD players on ebay are 1998+ only?

There is a loud rushing sound coming from the driver door at 65+ mph and some whistling - guessing the door seals need replacing.

I need a new gear knob as the current one is in bits!

The velour on the driver's seat is quite dirty - need to work out if it can be removed for washing.

The passenger's electric window goes down when you press the button and if you continue to hold the button to get it all the way down it will put itself back up. You can tap it to get it down but it takes a while. Driver's side controls don't open the passenger side windows in the front and rear. Rear passenger window not working at all.

Electric mirrors not working at all.

Rear demister button doesn't click or light up when you press it - seems like it's been disconnected, will need further investigation

The handbrake is quite weak. The car is easily pushed forward if facing down a gentle hill with handbrake applied (I learned this the hard way today as the car took off because I sat into it too quickly)