Advice on HDi please

Welcome to the 406 Owners Club (406oc.co.uk and pug406.co.uk). If you havn't registered, you can post in here, and find out what the site is all about!

Moderator: Moderators

Glyn406

Advice on HDi please

Post by Glyn406 »

Hello

I'm new to this forum, and hope that some of the old hands can give me advice.

I've been driving a petrol engined LX 406 estate for the last 13 years, from nearly new (17K miles) to pretty worn out (150K and counting). It's now living on borrowed time, but I really do like the 406 estate and am not keen to change to a different car, so I've been advised to consider a diesel 110 HDi ("They go on forever") as a replacement for the current car.

If I could find the right specimen, this would allow me to have a much-missed sunroof (not available as a retrofit option, as I discovered after signing the purchase forms for my present car), electric mirrors (parking is not my strong suit), parking sensors (ditto), and possibly adjustable lumbar support which my wife (a non-driving sufferer from arthritis) might find very helpful.

However, so far I've found that the few cars I've seen advertised as having a sunroof tend to be the Executive models, with leather upholstery, and I really would prefer fabric if possible; and I haven't seen a car with sunroof and lumbar support seats - even the Executive models seem not have this latter feature.

So what I'd like to know is whether there were models with the cocktail of features that I'd like, or am I wasting my time looking for one; and whether anyone who owns a car with lumbar support seats and also has a dicky back finds the l/s helpful, or would we be better off sticking with the Halfords accessory cushion that my wife uses at present ?