Head gasket replacement RHZ..

Discuss, ask, or get help with engine and mechanical queries in here.

Moderator: Moderators

jlmacd
1.8 16v

Head gasket replacement RHZ..

Post by jlmacd »

So, I appear left facing two choices: replace the head gasket or lose the car. It’s still currently drivable, short distances up to 20 miles maybe before the overheating presents but, obviously, that’s not going to cure itself. No smoke evident, white or blue. No oil in coolant or coolant in oil (mayo). Just the blasted back pressure in expansion and overheating problem.

I don’t have the budget to foot the labour bill to strip down the head but am contemplating whether to have a go myself.
I am not a mechanic but am pretty competent. (Managed to repair the auto box which gave me great satisfaction)

Can anyone here who may have undertaken the task themselves offer any words of encouragement (or caution!) if this is worth a go?

Engine is 2.0 HDi 110 (RHZ)

Many thanks
GingerMagic
3.0 24v

Re: Head gasket replacement RHZ..

Post by GingerMagic »

Doggy, is Jasper5 still loitering the forum from time to time?

If anyone can offer pearls of wisdom the it'll be him.
2003 2.2hdi estate - mine
1998 Volvo 940 auto estate - also mine
2019 Citroen C3 something - the wife's
PP2000 user, can help with faults / diagnostics in the Bournemouth area.
Doggy
Mod with a 2.2 HDi, De-Fapped!

Post by Doggy »

Hi Kelv, looks like Jasper5 has not been active on the site for over 3 years, I'm sure he said he was retiring.

Sorry I can't help you there.
2002 HDi 2.2 Exec Estate, (2008-12) (wonderful)
2003 HDi 2.2 6-speed Exec Estate (2012-19) (also a gem)
2009 Citroen C5 2.0 HDi VTR+ Estate (godawful heap)
2008 BMW E91 330i touring (great fun - murdered by a reversing SUV)
2007 BMW E91 325i touring (slower smoother quieter)
PeterN
3.0 24v

Post by PeterN »