power loss and oil leaks in RHZ engine

Discuss, ask, or get help with engine and mechanical queries in here.

Moderator: Moderators

lisboa
1.6 8v

power loss and oil leaks in RHZ engine

Post by lisboa »

Hello all

Newbie here writing from Lisbon, Portugal. I apologise in advance for this long first post but after climbing a steep learning curve about car engines in general and the 406, in particular (a lot of it here, thank you), I still have the following issues and questions.

Just got an '02 RHZ (180K Miles) and it is suffering from 2 problems.

Loss of Power
On the 2 extended drives I've made I felt that it had no vim on the way to a speed of 120 and the slightest incline necessitated a downshift to 4th. I also didn't feel or hear the turbo kick in (but I have little experience of turbos, so, don't really know). Among the possibilities that I have considered (from extensive reading and lurking - especially here [for which, thanks]:
  • Throttle cable slack (it was and i have adjusted it but haven't yet tested it as I can't drive it until I drain excess oil from a recent overfill (see below). I did confirm that in neutral I could get to 4000 rpm easily but I have not taken it out on the road to see whether it is more responsive.

EGR valve stuck in open state which would mean that both at idle and at WOT (when the valve would normally be shut), exhaust gases would be admitted to the combustion chamber. I am discounting this option as I understand that if this were to be the case, the car would stall at idle. Can anyone confirm this?